Distinguished Professors / Researchers

Distinguished Professors

Shigefumi Mori

Director-General and Distinguished Professor

D.Sc., Kyoto University. Mori served as Assistant at Kyoto University from 1975 through 1980, and as Lecturer, Associate Professor, and Professor at Nagoya University from 1980 through 1990. In 1990 he moved back to Kyoto University and served as Professor at the Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences until 2016, and became Director-General of KUIAS. Mori was awarded the Fields Medal at the International Congress of Mathematicians in 1990, for "the existence proof of minimal models for three-dimensional algebraic varieties." This prize is often described as the Nobel Prize in the field of mathematics. He was selected as a Person of Cultural Merit by the Minister of MEXT in 1990. He took office as President of the International Mathematical Union in 2015.


View more details


Tetsuro Matsuzawa

Director-General and Distinguished Professor

Ph.D. in Science, Kyoto University. Matsuzawa was appointed to his present post in 2016 after assuming such posts as Assistant, Associate Professor, and Professor at the Primate Research Institute of Kyoto University.
He created the new academic field called "Comparative cognitive science" through his research called "Ai Project", titled after the name of the chimpanzee, as well as through his fieldwork in the Republic of Guinea, West Africa.
Matsuzawa was awarded the Medal of Honor with Purple Ribbon by Japan's Emperor in 2004 for his contribution to academic developments. He was also selected as a Person of Cultural Merit by the Minister of MEXT in 2013.


View more details

Tasuku Honjo

Deputy Director-General and Distinguished Professor

Ph.D., Kyoto University. Honjo served as Professor at the School of Medicine of Osaka University. After that he moved back to Kyoto and served as Professor at the Faculty of Medicine from 1984 through 2005, then he served as Visiting Professor at the Graduate School of medicine. In 2017, he became Distinguished Professor of KUIAS.
Honjo solved the mechanistic principle of vaccination-induced antibody memory by discovery of AID, which engraves antigen memory in the immunoglobulin gene. Honjo also contributed to the development of cancer immunotherapy by discovering the protein "PD-1" that suppresses the function of immune cells. This therapy is approved worldwide for many types of cancers including lung cancer.
He was awarded Robert Koch Prize in 2012, received Order of Culture from the Japanese Government in 2013, awarded Tang Prize in 2014, Kyoto Prize in 2016, and Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2018.


View more details


Susumu Kitagawa

Distinguished Professor and iCeMS Director

Ph.D. in Engineering, Kyoto University. Kitagawa serves as the Deputy Director-General of KUIAS since 2016, and the Director of iCeMS since 2013. He was appointed as Distinguished Professor at KUIAS in 2017, after assuming such posts as Associate Professor at the Faculty of Science and Engineering of Kindai University, Professor at the Department of Chemistry of Tokyo Metropolitan University, Professor at Graduate School of Engineering of Kyoto University, and Professor at iCeMS.
Kitagawa developed "porous" materials with numerous nano-sized holes. These materials are expected to be used for the development of new materials to absorb carbon dioxide causing global warming, and also for medical applications. He was selected as a Thomson Reuters Citation Laureate in 2010, and received the Japan Academy Prize in 2016.


View more details

Takeo Kanade

Invited Distinguished Professor

Ph.D. in Engineering, Kyoto University. Kanade has been U.A. and Helen Whitaker University Professor at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) since 1998, after serving as Research Assistant and Associate Professor at Kyoto University and also as Associate Professor and Professor at CMU. He has contributed to the basic theory of computer vision and introduced a series of innovative applied technologies in robotics including automated driving and new media using a large number of cameras, constantly advancing the frontiers of this academic field for many years. He was elected as a foreign member of US National Academy of Engineering in 1997, and received the Kyoto Prize for his achievements in 2016.

View more details